The predominant color in Northeast Ohio these days is white.  The snow has been flying at a furious pace, although not nearly as wickedly as the eastern seaboard.  But nonetheless, if my car isn’t covered in snow, it’s covered in the white of road salt. 

I need a color fix .  The best place to get it for me is through color studies in weaving.  Even though I am not playing with color on my loom right now, plenty of others are.  I’ve always been particularly impressed with the multi-shaft weaving work of Beryl Moody.  I discovered her work on Flickr and found out she owns Banner Mountain Textiles in California.  Her blog is filled with beautiful, complicated colorwork  weavestructures.

She’s got an amazing project on her loom right now that shouts with color.

5-thread satin blocks

Beryl’s work gives me plenty of inspiration to plan and execute a wonderful weaving project with lots of color.  A beautiful colorwork on the loom adds a ray of sunshine to an otherwise white winter month.

