I have a practical side I just can’t seem to shake.  My garden is full of useful plants- herbs, vegetables.  Thankfully my husband likes the beautiful side of flowers so it’s a nice balance.

Even my hobbies have to be useful.

All of my handweaving projects have a practical purpose whether it’s towels, placemats, or clothing. But at the end of a workshop, I’m frequently left with samples and little to do with them. 

After the painted warps workshop, I managed to end up with a table runner I chronicled in another post.  However, I was also left with a lovely scrap of on-the-loom painted fabric.  Rather than watch it sit in my stash, I looked around for a small project to transform into a useful object.

I have an iPod Touch that I covet.  Why not make a holder to protect it from all the nasty stuff in my purse?  Voila.

A little bit of fabric, some batting, a piece of elastic, and a button from my stash and there you have it.  The fabric got a little thick on the right side, so the seam is kind of wonky, but otherwise I’m happy with something that appeals to my practical side.

Sometimes I have to tame the “useful” beast.  Not everything can be practical; some should just be enjoyed for the beauty of it all.  But this little project appeals to both.  It protects my darling iPod and it’s nice to look at too.

