One of the wonderful results of my pursuit of weaving the past few years has been a renewed interest in sewing for myself.  When my children were young, the only sewing time I could muster was the occasional curtain or pillow…squares and rectangles.

But when I discovered I could weave fabric yardage my past world of sewing clothes returned.  Part of the frustration of sewing today is that most fabric stores only sell “craft” material.  You must go to the bigger cities of New York, Chicago, and Washington D.C. to find anything approaching a serious fabric store for garment construction.

That’s why I was so delighted to find Marcy Tilton’s website.  She not only sells the terrific patterns she designs for Vogue, but she also searches out the finest fabrics that she makes available for sale. Recently I purchased some stretch woven and double knit fabrics to make into pants.  In addition, I bought two of her fine dvds which feature details related to garment construction in Paris and creative ways to design your own t-shirts.

I have found that the content of her dvds is just like having a workshop at home at a time when it’s convenient for me. I am very excited to put some of her techniques into practice and get my sewing machine going again for my garment needs.

