This year marks the 120th anniversary of the birth of Agatha Christie.  It seems like as fitting time to admit that one of my guilty pleasures is collecting mysteries.  Over the years I’ve amassed a respectable collection of British tomes including books by my favorite, Dorothy Sayers, whose main character Lord Peter Wimsey is an icon of the golden age of mysteries.  Those Brits sure know how to write. Along the way I’ve discovered Josephine Tey (Inspector Grant), Gladys Mitchell (Dame Beatrice Lastrange Bradley), Patricia Wentworth (Maud Silver), and so many more.

Imagine my delight during my trip to Ann Arbor a few weeks ago, when I discovered the book shop Aunt Agatha’s, a mecca for the mystery lover.

Let me take you inside to see the treasure trove of mysteries this shop offers.

Let’s just say it took me a while to get through the place. Every nook and cranny had something interesting which I adore in a good independent bookstore. And while there were plentyof new titles offered, Aunt Agatha’s had a nice collection of used books.

I wrote earlier that I adore the old British mysteries and while I bought one of those, I actually ended up purchasing two old Annette Funicello mysteries.  Of course they are cheesy!  They were put out by Disney when she was one of the Mouseketeers, but I got one when I was a girl and they were irresistible!

Nancy Drew will never be topped, but Annette is still an icon of American culture and I will look forward to seeing her solve a mystery in her wholesome way.

