Back in the fall, I joined an online group called French Fridays with Dorie where we cook through Dorie Greenspan’s cookbook Around My French Table.  I’ve been faithfully cooking the dishes designated for each month and enjoying it immensely.  Dorie is one of those cookbook authors who makes you feel like you have a friend in the kitchen.  She’s extremely generous with her readers both in her comments, suggestions, and detailed directions.

My co-worker, who loves food, bought Dorie’s book for her mother for Christmas and received one for herself after my effusive comments about my adventures.

Here’s the latest effort- Chicken B’Stilla (I think pronounced ba-stee-yah) which is a savory pie encased in phyllo dough. Now it’s not the prettiest version because I’m a complete newbie in working with phyllo dough, but it tasted pretty wonderful.

My husband and kids were suitably impressed and especially enjoyed the crunchy exterior.

I’ve never cooked through an entire cookbook before, but this online group is helping me get the most from this extraordinary treasure.

